Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A Couple Of Questions About Video Monitors and Graphic Cards

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rocky Bennett

Rocky Bennett

• Members
  • 2,667 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:29 AM

Posted 13 March 2015 - 08:07 AM

Hello All,

I am new to this whole computer scene and I have a lot to learn about all of the various aspects of computer technology. First, I am in the middle of building my first computer and I have been tweaking it since I first assembled it a couple of weeks ago. I just added a new monitor, a Samsung 24 inch high resolution monitor. http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/monitors/LS24D360HL/ZA

It has really made a big difference over my previous monitor which was an old HP monitor that came with a pre-packaged computer which I bought in 2009. My first question deals with the software that comes packaged with the monitor. The monitor itself was plug and play, I simply plugged it into the computer with an HDMI cable and it worked flawlessly. So what is on the CD that is included and do I really need it if I am happy with the monitor as it is?

Second, I will be adding a cheap graphics card to my computer this weekend, like this; http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1226&pid=2020&lid=1