Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Recovering data from dead laptop hard drive

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 danpurman

danpurman

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:30 AM

Posted 03 March 2015 - 12:51 PM

Computer novice here, so laymans terms as much as possible please.

Old laptop will not boot up.  Some of the data has been backed up but not all.  I would like to recover remaining data.  I bought an IDE/SATA connecter and removed the hard drive from dead computer. When I connect to working computer and attempt to view the old hard drive (F drive on "my computer") it says "you need to format the disk in drive F before you can use it." When I click "format disk" it warns that all data will be erased from disk if I continue so I cancel the operation.

I tried a third party software like Recuva and Undelete Plus. Recuva scanned the disk for photos and found random jpegs and gifs that appear to be stock photos and web browser content, not my actual photos I have taken.  Undelete Plus scan only found 3 deleted pictures and would not let me view them without purchasing the full version.