Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux Share

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 colinprowitt

colinprowitt

• Members
  • 34 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:22 PM

Posted 27 June 2006 - 10:06 PM

I am very new to linux and i'm not quite sure how to add my linux machine to my microsoft file and print sharing network. Do i need to use the samba server role or what..........

Please walk me through this........i have my machine connected to my LAN (switch/router which is serving up ip addresses.....DHCP). I already have two windows machines connected in a workgroup.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Joedude

Joedude

• Members
  • 337 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:22 AM

Posted 28 June 2006 - 04:47 AM

what distro are you using?
If someone tells you to su rm -rf /
DON'T DO IT!!!!
Be in the know, Bash smart!

#3 colinprowitt

colinprowitt
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 34 posts
  •  

Posted 28 June 2006 - 09:46 PM

actually i figured it out.

Next problem i can see my linux box on the list of workgroup computers but i cannot access it.

The error message says i have no permissions to access the share folder i created in the samba setup.
and also says network path not found

btw i have fedora core 4

#4 Joedude

Joedude

• Members
  • 337 posts
  •  

Posted 29 June 2006 - 04:20 AM