Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

AC and DC Power Adapters

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 wishmakingfairy

wishmakingfairy

• Members
  • 212 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:28 AM

Posted 27 February 2015 - 02:29 PM

I have no background in electronics whats so ever and am curious as to why this old electric piano is working only with a 9v AC adapter and not its 9v DC adapter which it calls for.

I know you should never switch them, but I have the general impression of "9v is 9v right?" Please don't get uber technical like people did when I worked at an auto parts store. A gentleman called in looking for a bolt whos thread was 38 pitch or some nonsense, like I went to bolt thread school.

Using ubuntu and sharing how to as well as collecting how to scripts for common programs. Feel free to ask or share ^-^

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Animal

Animal

Bleepin' Animinion

• Site Admin
  • 35,305 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:28 PM

Posted 27 February 2015 - 03:31 PM

AC being alternating current like that comes from the wall. Stepped down from whatever your wall voltage is 9v AC. DC being direct current like that provided by batteries. Would be your household AC current stepped down to 9 v and converted to DC.