Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mac Training for a Windows Engineer!!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 David Ashcroft

David Ashcroft

• Members
  • 169 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:04 PM

Posted 24 February 2015 - 06:32 PM

Hi all, 

I work as an IT Support Engineer mainly in Windows environments. I have never really messed around with Mac or Apple at all, we have the odd user with a macbook or iMac that we need to support, but most of the issues tend to be on the Windows VM's that they use. 

I feel like a bit of an "end user" when it comes to mac and I think it is about time i got a deeper understanding of them in regards to how they work, what they do etc, especially in a Helpdesk environment. 

I often wonder how to even install/uninstall programs? What is the equivalent to registry in Mac OS? Why is it more difficult for macs to get viruses, what causes them to get it and how do you remove them? Can you connect Mac's to a domain? 

There are basically lots of things I am looking to learn from the basics to a more advanced level as a support engineer.