Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Port Forward Blues

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 BRSHiFi

BRSHiFi

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:34 PM

Posted 10 February 2015 - 03:05 PM

Hi All,

I am a recently graduated electrical engineer who has a reasonable amount of knowledge in TCP/IP networking and the internet. My ultimate goal is to have an embedded computer system send information it collects from sensors over the internet to a C# application I will write.

To test the integrety of my network and configuration settings, I downloaded a simple chat client/server pair someone wrote. The program works fine within my own local home network. To test connectivity from LAN to LAN (over the internet), I connect to another WiFi network other than my own and the program does not work. This means the data is not passing through. The program uses UDP, which is OK for my application.

Numerous tutorials say I need to utilize port forwarding. I did this. I set the IP address of my local machine as the server and chose the port the application uses in my router. Still, it does not work.