Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Exchanging hard drives

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OkieDarling

OkieDarling

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:42 AM

Posted 23 January 2015 - 10:33 PM

Hey y'all, it's my first time posting a question, so if it's in the wrong place, apologies in advance...

I have a HP ProBook 4520s that I can no longer use due to the fact the screen is black.  It has been diagnosed with a bad motherboard, which unfortunately I cannot afford to have replaced at the time.  My question is this: Is it possible to save all my data by transferring to another computer, or perhaps exchanging hard drives?

Please bear in my mind I am only minimally fluent in techspeak, and thank you for taking the time to contemplate my query.

:) 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 OldPhil

OldPhil

Doppleganger

• Members
  • 3,752 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:42 AM

Posted 24 January 2015 - 07:20 AM

The drive can be removed put into an enclosure, it can then be plugged into a working computer.  You cannot put the drive into another computer it will not be recognized.

If you don't stand for the flag then you will fall for anything!

#3 Nawt0k

Nawt0k

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:42 AM

Posted 25 January 2015 - 10:04 PM