Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How can I delete amd64 folders - Losing Hard Drive space

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 masterkaga

masterkaga

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:21 AM

Posted 07 January 2015 - 04:04 AM

How can I delete amd64 folders - Losing Hard Drive space

Hello, I'm a newbie here. I have a baffling problem with my PC.

Beforehand I would like to apologize for this post because I have been up all night fighting with my computer. If it comes out strange, then I'm sorry.

I started noticing that my hard drive space was vanishing. I checked my system restore files and they were fine. I checked my paging settings and they were low. I ran TreeSize to find where my space went and I found a file in the Windows folder named winsxs that was holding 15,000 small folders totaling 16.8GB (!).

I ran cCleaner and it didn't detect the batch of bad files. I ran Windows Disk Cleanup and it didn't delete them either.

I can't delete them manually either. If you try to, they say: "You need permission to perform this action. You require permission from TrustedInstaller to make changes to this folder." As far as I know TrustedInstaller is from Windows, right?