Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help with a build

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 auraelspeth

auraelspeth

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:44 AM

Posted 29 December 2014 - 02:58 PM

I am looking to build a desktop with a $1000 budget. I have never done this before, but I have replaced parts (and I'm not a complete dumba**), so I think I'll be able to handle putting it together. What I need help with, though, is choosing the hardware. I've been looking around at guides, but I figured I'd ask what you guys think.

Like I said, I've got a $1000 budget. I feel weird saying I need a gaming computer, because I'm not a hardcore gamer, but every time I've upgraded my pcs it's been because of games. However, I only use one monitor and I don't overclock or anything like that. Besides gaming I use my computer for watching videos, low-end productivity (like Office and Adobe), listening to music, and storing photos and music. My ideal computer can run games like LOTR: Shadow of Mordor and TES Online with med-high settings, not be completely outdated in 2 years, and be easily upgraded for the future. Oh yeah, I've already got a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

So what do you think?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DeimosChaos

DeimosChaos

• BC Advisor
  • 1,416 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:44 AM