Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

What to back up?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 DonL100

• Members
  • 2 posts
  • Local time:05:48 AM

Posted 17 December 2014 - 03:00 PM

Hi! I'm new at this, I'm 74 and want to know what should be "BACKED UP". I'm confused! I opened a suggested Backup Program to backup my computer....950GB is says. I can't put that on a DVD (4.7 GB). What is an "essential backup" ? Probably passwords but what else? Thanks, Don

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

• 54,990 posts
  • Local time:07:48 AM

Posted 17 December 2014 - 05:47 PM

Considereing the numbers and types of mishaps that most users have...backing up anything less than everything on the system...returns using a computer daily into a never-ending crapshoot, IMO.

The proliferation of malware today means, IMO, that anyone may have to trash everything on a given system....tomorrow.  If you don't have everything backed up, then you have to start from the beginning.  Considering that many users don't have install disks and the recovery mechanixms implemented by some OEMs seem to be highly unreliable...it seems prudent to me that a user should back up everything considered valuable.

It something is on a system and it's not deemed valuable/useful...then I have to wonder just why the user put those files on the system.