Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trying to Understand a Scam

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LittleGreenDots

LittleGreenDots

• Members
  • 446 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:31 PM

Posted 16 December 2014 - 10:02 AM

I am a music teacher and recently posted an ad on Craigslist.  A day or so after posting, I got a suspicious txt msg on my phone (my phone number was included in the ad), one which I have received numerous times in the past.  It used to come to me as email but now I am getting text messages.

Here is the msg:

"Hello...How are you doing?  My name is Daniel Williams.  I want tutor lesson for my Daughter for a month she is 12.  I want you to calculate the cost of 2 hours per day for 3 days in a week for the whole Month and the total cost.  emauil me at swilllis514@gmail.com.  Thanks."

I can't figure why this person wants me to respond.  The number of hours a week for lessons is totally bogus.  I have taught hour lessons but never three hours.  The last time I got this msg, I emailed back that I wanted a phone number to talk to someone and the sender told me s/he had laryngitis. 

I did not respond but I do want to know what they are trying to get from me.

Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 greasysicilian

greasysicilian

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  

Posted 16 December 2014 - 10:10 AM