Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Replacing internal HDD

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NipNip1964_*

Guest_NipNip1964_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 11 December 2014 - 12:53 PM

Laptop: Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Internal HDD: Samsung ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB (SATA) - 1TB

Hello - as a novice I wonder if someone could kindly give me step-by-step advice on how to replace the internal HDD please?

The current HDD makes a loud 'click' sound occasionally, and I fear that it may not last much longer.  I have never replaced any component before, but I have done the following in anticipation: made a System Image using Windows to an external USB HDD, created a Windows 8.1 recovery drive on a 16GB USB 'stick', and identified the access cover and connectors to the HDD.

I assume I have to physically replace the HDD, then after power-on somehow access the BIOS/UEFI to change the boot order such that it boots from the recovery drive.  Will this recovery drive allow me to transfer the system image from the external HDD to the new internal HDD?  What other steps do I need to take?

Any help much appreciated!  Thank you :)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 the_patriot11

the_patriot11

High Tech Redneck

• BC Advisor
  • 6,755 posts
  •  

Posted 11 December 2014 - 09:33 PM