Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I'm pretty new to all this Linux business...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wesker1984

Wesker1984

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:48 AM

Posted 11 December 2014 - 04:59 AM

I tried out Linux Mint earlier this year, started with 16 but it was just around the release of 17 and so I quickly went to that, unfortunately it crapped out on me (probably my fault for not waiting a couple of months while issues got ironed out), and so I abandoned the Linux idea for a while.

Yesterday I installed Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, and so I now have a few questions:

1. I liked the cinnamon desktop of Mint, is it compatible with Ubuntu (I read that Mint is Debian/Ubuntu based)? Plus how would I get it if so?

2. I know that malware that is Linux based is rare, but it's out there, are there any good day-zero antimalware apps for Linux out there? I know I'm highly unlikely to become infected but I'd like to make myself even less of a target!

3. I'm not a coder or anyone who likes to try and remember hundreds of CLI commands, my area is hardware/networking (studying for CCNA). Is there a good resource out there for quick reference of commands? Particularly pertaining to SNMP diagnostics.