Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Virtual Memory

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mdc_on_ca

mdc_on_ca

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:05 PM

Posted 29 November 2014 - 01:47 AM

Mod Edit:  Split from http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/556419/virtual-memory-is-low/ - Hamluis.

I am a computer technician in Toronto Canada. I support over 100 computers from different customers. Most of them are Windows XP. For just over a month now I am getting random computers popping up with this message for no reason. When I run "process explorer" or taskmanager on these computers, they are usually over 2GB of memory used in "Total Commit Charge" with no process claiming the virtual memory. Almost all the XP computers have the same software, XP-home or Pro, AVG 2015, google chrome #37 or 38. My home computer did it to me the other day also.

I have been trying to figure this one out for a month. Rebooting the computers brings the memory back to about 400mb.

Any suggestions? I cannot find much on this subject on the internet but I found this post. (by the way, the computers ALL have "let windows manage my virtual memory" set. 

I have not seen this error message popping up since the computers all had 512mb of memory 10 years ago.