Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Odd sound card problem

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 silentmonolith

silentmonolith

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:35 PM

Posted 23 November 2014 - 11:23 AM

I have been troubleshooting computers for 15+ years and I've encountered something unusual:

Computer: HP Pavilion a1610n (on HP's website it says it has AMD processor, however the processor is Intel; as well, graphic card is listed as nVidia, but in reality it was VIA based)

Problem: there is no sound output coming from the audio jacks located at the back of computer, however the frontal jacks work fine (?!). In Device manager there are 2 sound controllers listed: AC'97 and an unknown HD audio controller that has a yellow exclamation sign; upon accessing its properties I get: "Device Status: This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)"

So, I have done everything I could do to fix the problem:

-I tried a fresh system installation with Windows 7 (problem remained) then downgraded to Vista (no luck).

-I tried forcing the computer to install a driver for the HD audio, but the system became unstable (BSOD)