Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

iSpeedPC Virus

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 NH-ITGUY

NH-ITGUY

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:13 AM

Posted 18 November 2014 - 01:58 PM

Hi All,

I am an IT Support Technician in a company. One of my customers reported that she got iSpeedPC virus on her Windows 7 laptop running
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit OS.  I just prepared this laptop for and it was clean until she tried to download Skype from somewhere and got infected. She is in CA and I am in MA.

I searched the forums for iSpeedPC and only found one article
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/549952/go-save-malware/?hl=%2Bispeedpc
kirontanvir11  goes on to say he has GoSave adware and used Farbar. The Farbar log said it was going to delete several files which included:
2014-09-27 12:40 - 2014-09-27 12:50 - 00003894 _____ () C:\windows\System32\Tasks\ISpeedPC_Daily
2014-09-27 12:40 - 2014-09-27 12:40 - 00000937 _____ () C:\Users\Public\Desktop\iSpeedPC.lnk

This is a completely different process from what mitechmate.com talks about below.

I also found a removal process for iSpeedPC posted from
(moderator edit: deleted link to outside guide. Explanation in my post below. Queen-Evie).   I was wondering if anyone knows anything about this site and it's legitimate. 

Any comments would be appreciated.
NH-ITGUY