Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Setting up Wifi in a large house

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 New_Suburban

New_Suburban

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:34 PM

Posted 16 November 2014 - 11:23 AM

Hi All, I've been trolling the internet but can't find a solution that would apply to me. Also I'm not very technical so I may just be lost :-)

Situation : I have just moved to a large house, where the wifi signal wont carry from downstairs to upstairs. We have cable internet service and the house is wired for ethernet cables in the wall sockets. I have 2 active ethernet ports, one downstairs and one upstairs. I have a new high end Netgear router plugged into the internet downstairs. I have an older (more basic) netgear router which I was planning to plug into the internet cable upstairs. I cannot logistically run a wire from 1 router to another. 

As I understand it, this would create 2 separate wifi networks, which is not ideal. The upstairs router is far enough that it doesn't catch the wifi signal from downstairs, so making it a repeater wouldn't work either. Is there a way to use the hard wire into the internet from the upstairs router, and still create a single consolidated wifi network which spans both floors of the house ? 

Thank you ! 

AK

Edited by New_Suburban, 16 November 2014 - 11:25 AM.