Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux Mint: What Style Should I Get?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kirbyofdeath

Kirbyofdeath

• Members
  • 459 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:09 AM

Posted 11 November 2014 - 11:45 AM

Hi, I'd like to install Linux Mint, However, I don't know what Desktop Style I should choose. Although I have some experience with GNOME, I'd prefer something closest to windows xp's desktop.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 wishmakingfairy

wishmakingfairy

• Members
  • 212 posts
  •  

Posted 11 November 2014 - 11:48 AM

I just installed cinnamon on a virtual machine, so far its.... pretty simple, its obviously different from windows, but has that simple start like button in the bottom left.

Im primarily an ubuntu user, but use other distros as well and can say the cinnamon version is pretty nice.

Edited by wishmakingfairy, 11 November 2014 - 12:03 PM.

Using ubuntu and sharing how to as well as collecting how to scripts for common programs. Feel free to ask or share ^-^

#3 zingo156

zingo156

• BC Advisor
  • 3,333 posts
  •  

Posted 11 November 2014 - 11:51 AM

YlmfOS 2.0 Theme:

http://www.noobslab.com/2014/05/recall-old-memories-of-xp-with-ylmfos.html

Or win-xp-theme

http://www.itworld.com/article/2699539/enterprise-software/install-windows-xp-theme-in-linux-mint-16.html