Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First Time Building a PC

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 thakarn

thakarn

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:03 PM

Posted 08 November 2014 - 06:43 AM

Hello,

Firstly I'd just like to say I'm a bit of a dimwit when it comes to computer technology, and this is my first time building a computer. 

I'm looking to build a new PC that can provide a decent performance for games such as World of Warcraft, and perhaps some more recent PC games too. I'm also a student studying architecture at UCL, and our course will soon require that I use 3D rendering programmes, Autocad and photoshop amongst others. Currently I'm doing all of this on an Acer Aspire 5750, and when playing World of Warcraft, HWMonitor indicates that my laptop's core temperature runs at near 100 degrees celsius, at 1-10 fps in-game. 

Here is my first build: 
http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/rwcMmG

I decided to change a few things about this; firstly, I changed the memory from 2x4GB to 1x8GB and will likely add more memory in the future to help with heavy 3D rendering and photoshop. I downscaled the SSD from 256GB to 128GB to save some money, and I changed the processor from an I5-3570k to a I5-4690k at roughly the same price. In doing so, I had to change the motherboard (the new one is now double in price! =O )