Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What Does A Bootup Disk Do?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Kolbeck_118

Kolbeck_118

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:05 AM

Posted 14 June 2006 - 05:11 PM

I just want to know what a bootup disk will exactly do. I am new to all this computer stuff and would like to learn as much as possible. If you have a sugggestion on how to learn more please inform me. :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DaveM59

DaveM59

Bleepin' Grandpa

• Members
  • 1,355 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:05 AM

Posted 14 June 2006 - 08:27 PM

A bootup disk will allow you to start the computer when your Windows has become messed up in some way. By using a boot disk with the proper files on it, you may be able to repair your Windows installation.

Boot disks are sometimes used for other purposes such as diagnosing hardware problems (memory for example).

Meaning no disrespect at all, I would suggest starting with the Dummies book for whichever version of Windows you are using. I have several Dummies books on my desk right now and I have found them among the clearest introductions to their subjects. I would also suggest the latest Edition of Peter Norton's Inside the PC for a more comprehensive in-depth introduction to the world of personal computers.

#3 Kolbeck_118

Kolbeck_118
  • Topic Starter

• Members