Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer infected, some removed, no exe file will run

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 jjmcgaffey

jjmcgaffey

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:07 AM

Posted 06 November 2014 - 05:02 PM

I'm an independent computer tech. I'm used to clearing viruses off machines, and dealing with the damage left behind. This one has me stumped.

I have a computer from a new client - Dell laptop, Windows 7 Ultimate, 4 Gb, Core2 Duo (I can give more details if needed). It was booting incredibly slowly - literally 5-8 minutes from on to desktop showing and icons clickable. Other problems too, but I can deal with them when this is fixed. Running AVG Free 2015 (previously installed).

I was able to install and run CCleaner. Removed some startup files, there wasn't anything odd in the installed programs, ran the cleaner and registry and both ran normally.