Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cleaned laptop keyboard with disinfecting wipes, moments later keyboard inop.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 XCLR8

XCLR8

• Members
  • 36 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:06 AM

Posted 03 November 2014 - 09:57 PM

Hello. I am an auto technician and I use my laptop for work and personal use. Long story short about cleaning my laptop with disinfecting wipes, I have sensitive skin.

I cleaned my keyboard from my laptop with a disinfecting wipe. A few moments later, the keyboard stops working. Automatically I knew the liquid must have gotten somewhere to the connector. Researched online to figure out how to take a part my laptop. Cleaned the ribbon of the keyboard with a Q-Tip and rubbing alcohol. Went further to take apart the case around the keyboard and didn't notice anything out of the ordinary. Reassembled the laptop after cleaning the ribbon end and keyboard is still not responding. Went to computer management uninstalled both keyboards found and reinstalled (only 1 was able to re-install automatically). Still not functioning.

So here I am, upset thinking I may have to buy myself another keyboard...or worse a laptop? This is the laptop info:

HP Pavilion

17-e019dx

Windows 8.1