Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux 17 and Antivirus

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Weenex

Weenex

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:21 PM

Posted 03 November 2014 - 09:40 PM

I'm new to owning a computer so excuse me if I ask dumb questions...I just got a Linux 17 live dvd. I have been using Wxp.

The Linux works great so far, the other version wouldn't let me online. Can a computer get a virus if you're using a live disc? I had malwarebytes on the Wxp but the icon doesn't show in the tray on Linux. Do I need to install it again? As I said in other posts I never got the correct key to the Wxp so it will expire in 26 days and I'm hoping the Linux will keep me online after that. Should I eventually put the Linux on the hard drive or just run it in the dvd player? All I do is surf the net, email,ebay, and YouTube--nothing else.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 NickAu

NickAu

Bleepin' Fish Doctor

• 13,556 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:21 AM

Posted 03 November 2014 - 09:47 PM

Can a computer get a virus if you're using a live disc?

Short answer is no.

Infact surfing the net from a Live Disk is one of the safest methods I know , This also includes internet banking while using a Live Disk.

I had malwarebytes on the Wxp but the icon doesn't show in the tray on Linux