Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help with drivers

• Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 Cjay58

Cjay58

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:15 AM

Posted 29 October 2014 - 11:12 AM

I am fairly new to computer tech. I have recently made a big transition from being an engineer to learn more about computers so that I can assist others in what will hopefully prove to become a career.
Currently I find the hardest part of this process is getting myself into employment. Even with my engineering background there just aren't companies willing or able to take on an entry level person.
I have however made a name for myself by assisting others free of charge who can not afford the help otherwise. It also provides me with experience that I can't seem to get elsewhere.
Anyhow I take on older equipment which I repair and clean up to re home for others to use. They are far from perfect computers, but as mentioned above these are usually the only way to provide a family a computer whom could not afford one.
Most of these computers are XP era computers and I would have thought it possible to still find drivers so that we could use Windows 7 basic, but this thought process has proven me wrong.
Is there somewhere that offers a 3rd party compatibility package for this type of thing?