Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mac looked like it was infected with something, what was I seeing?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 jrmarto

jrmarto

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:25 AM

Posted 08 October 2014 - 04:54 PM

I do at-home PC support and also help people with Macs although I am far from a Mac expert. Helping a client with a brand new iMac yesterday and it was acting like a PC with a virus. Scenario is that her nephew helped her set it up and downloaded Office software from somewhere (we don't know where but he's a college student so could have been perfectly legit but all bets are off) and then her 3 little kids played with the Mac. I was there to help set up user accounts for the kids with parental control, etc.