Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hi guys, brand new here, just some general questions.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Stephanie_Says

Stephanie_Says

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:02 AM

Posted 04 October 2014 - 10:57 PM

I've been using an old Dell Dimension 3000 (XP) for 5 years now and all I did was put 2 gigs of ram in it 5 years ago, since then I've been mainly editing music videos with Vegas Pro and Multi Track Recording with Reaper.  It's not compatible for modern gaming unfortunately, and I've run this thing into the ground doing what I do on it, it's just running hard / almost screaming all of the time.

I was given a Dell XPS 420 that I understand has some upgrades a good IT Guy did, but I'm unsure what was done exactly.  I'm waiting for the correct monitor cable to be shipped so I can find out exactly whats going on inside of the thing, obviously, I know nothing about hardware.

I would like to know how to run a system check to see whats inside so I can compare it to whatever else is out there and how to go about actually comparing whats inside with other systems (the pannel says it runs Vista).