Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Pseudo-PayPal scam?

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 saluqi


  • Members
  • 653 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southern San Joaquin Valley, Calfornia
  • Local time:08:44 PM

Posted 29 September 2014 - 09:30 PM

Today I received from "paypal@e.paypal.com" a "Notice of Policy Updates" - a very long document containing numerous links which all  seem to be identical though purportedly referring to different subjects.  Am I correct in supposing this is a scam, and the links toxic?


I deleted it without clicking on any links . . . being in the habit of scrutinizing links pretty carefully before clicking on them :)


The message is, for the moment, still saved in my "Deleted" folder, so I can reproduce a (munged version of) the link/links if desired.  I do know better than to post/re-post "live" links.  Question arising, though, is it sufficient to replace the two forward slashes with two dashes to "denature" the link?  I suppose that depends on the extent of "auto-correction" built into the operating system's link recognition software?  So far (up through Win XP) that has worked for me, in that the result has not been recognized as a link; I have not yet had occasion to test this in Win 8.


FWIW I do have a PayPal account and use it to pay some but not all of my online purchases.


Thanks for enlightenment!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 TsVk!


    penguin farmer

  • Members
  • 6,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Antipodes
  • Local time:02:44 PM

Posted 29 September 2014 - 10:13 PM

It is very very likely to be a phishing scam, you're 100% correct. Though the links themselves are most likly harmless, assuming you don't enter any information.


Links are commonly "denatured", for posting on forums,  by substituting x's for t's in the protocol like this







#3 Ezzah


  • Members
  • 438 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Local time:02:44 PM

Posted 29 September 2014 - 10:43 PM

Received a similar e-mail. It's just a phishing scam that has a cloned Paypal login interface. Just place the email as spam and ignore it. :)


#4 quietman7


    Bleepin' Janitor

  • Global Moderator
  • 52,077 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Local time:11:44 PM

Posted 30 September 2014 - 04:58 AM

How to Avoid Phishing Scams:
Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

If I have been helpful & you'd like to consider a donation, click 38WxTfO.gif

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users