Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mp3 Rocket Pro

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 leeboy

leeboy

• Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:49 PM

Posted 09 June 2006 - 08:29 PM

Hi all, I've been using MP3 Rocket pro for about 4 months with no problems. However I've read several threads on here about Limewire and other p2p applications being very dodgy and spreading adware/spyware etc.

I really like MP3 Rocket but now I'm worried that its not safe. Does anybody else use it ? Any problems ?

I regularly run anti virus and anti spyware/adware programs and I'm firewalled. Is it still risky ?

regards
Leeboy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:49 PM

Posted 10 June 2006 - 10:25 AM

Even if the application itself does not contain spyware, downloading files from unknown sources can be extremely risky since these may contain viruses and other forms of malware, either intentionally or not.
Regards,
John
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.

#3 leeboy

leeboy
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:49 PM

Posted 11 June 2006 - 12:55 PM

Thanks John.

Am I safe if I scan anything I download before I open or play files ?

regards
Lee

#4 percypape

percypape

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  

Posted 11 July 2006 - 06:23 AM