Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

new build: frankenrig lives (hopefully)

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 defanged

defanged

• Members
  • 75 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:24 AM

Posted 27 September 2014 - 12:32 AM

Just to give you a little background: I work at home (i'm a photographer), but alternate between two locations a couple times a week. In location A I have an almost obnoxiously large PC - way more computing power than I would ever, ever need - that I built about six months ago. But, in location B, I've been using a secondhand clevo that looks like one of those photographs meant to demonstrate how NOT to build/maintain a PC. I finally have the right combo of time and money, and I'm going to see if I can win the lottery twice (well, technically, three times... last year I put together a very basic, air-cooled system for my brother). While I did spend 18 months working part time at a computer repair store, I don't consider myself an expert and I know that without both the internet and youtube I would probably leave building to the big boys... Oh, and the computer will be used mostly for photo editing + a couple hours a day (don't judge) playing elder scrolls online.

here are the parts I'm using:

cpu - 17-4770k @ 3.5GHz

mobo - ASUS maximus VI formula

ram - 32 GB G.Skill trident x