Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What is the best anti-virus/malware software? Disillusioned with Malwarebytes

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 fullhse

fullhse

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:31 AM

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:00 AM

Hi, I have been using Malwarebytes for several years after having had some brushes with nasty malware on previous computers. My son recently spilled water on his laptop keyboard, and had to get it replaced. The diligent repair shop also ran virus checks, and found over 1900 registry keys as well as one nasty root virus. He runs Malwarebytes every couple days so I am wondering what we could have done better? He really does not surf the net except to run Steam and to log into his school's secure sites like Blackboard and WebCampus. Any advice would be great (he is running Windows 7 on a dell laptop).

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 kokomodrums

kokomodrums

• Members
  • 202 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:31 AM

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:03 AM

Do you know what software the repair shop used?

-- Matt

#3 fullhse

fullhse
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:12 AM

I do not - but will call them and ask.

#4 fullhse

fullhse
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:19 AM