Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

32bit or 64bit advice please

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 alanem

alanem

• Members
  • 65 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:51 PM

Posted 21 September 2014 - 05:20 AM

Hello.  I am thinking of getting a new bespoke 64bit PC and upgrade from Windows  XP.   I have been using a bookkeeping program for 12 years and have got a large number of files that I must have access to.  The program will run on Windows 7 Home Edition 32bit but not 64 bit   Should I go for Windows 7 Professional Edition 64bit then run the program in XP Compatibility Mode or reduce the PC spec and use Windows 7 Home 32 bit which will be cheaper?   Can anybody point out the major pros and cons?  Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 ElfBane

ElfBane

• Members
  • 775 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:51 PM

Posted 21 September 2014 - 07:30 AM

I would go with Windows 7 Pro x64 edition with 8GB of RAM. With the Pro edition you get XP mode. It's a virtual environment  of WinXP 32-bit with SP3. You will have to DL the XP mode software, it doesn't come natively with Win7 Pro.

View this site for more info, paying attention to the Details and System Requirements buttons ... http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8002 .

#3 Laith225

Laith225

• Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:51 PM