Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Firmware Attack! BAD VULNERABILITY!

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mryan0333

Mryan0333

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:24 AM

Posted 13 September 2014 - 12:12 AM

Hey i have been an sysadmin for many years working with computers and have an associate degree in electronics. The happy members of some very intrusive group (wont mention the name) has decided to put a malicious code onto all my computers that has literally wiped the nvram tables, after trying to modify or remove it on 8 systems i had! Needless to say this really isnt a virus but rather a very suspicious boot loader that creates a virtual disk inside your efi tables using a language code that literally tricks the bios into believing that a "?" Is an actual "." In the dir structure of ALL GRUB, NTFS, DOS, UNIX AND APPLE BOOTLOADERS!

I now have not only lost thousands of dollars worth of computers, i just recently bought a dell inspiron 15r that became infected before i could even get the recovery cd burned.. Personally i have taken almost 2 years to analyse this and figure out how it does what it does, but have yet to find a way to stop it!