Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Question about external hard drives

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jb1468

jb1468

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:43 PM

Posted 03 September 2014 - 05:56 AM

I have some PC knowledge, but far from extensive. I am looking to buy an external hard drive for a friend who has even less knowledge than I have, therefore any suggestions need to be user friendly.

She has just had her first baby and wishes to use the external hard drive as a device to store all her photos and videos only (currently on Windows PC). It will not be used to back up/store any other items. I use Dropbox myself, however cloud services are not an option for her due to cost. Over the next 10-20 years she would use an estimated 500GB of space for photos/videos.

I have never had/used an external drive and this is where I have a few questions. I would have no problems showing her how to drag/copy and paste etc from the files containing the photos etc to the external drive, but I would prefer to have an option where each time the drive was connected to the PC it could grab any new photos/videos and move them to the drive, without it having to be done manually.