Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Laptop laptop infected with a MBR Rootkit

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 2cantech

2cantech

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:30 AM

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:09 AM

Original Topic - Am I infected? What to do?

I am a PC tech working on a Gateway laptop infected with a MBR Rootkit.  Bleeping Computer is a place where one tech helps another, and I could use some help now.

It started out as a computer caught in a loop.  I pulled the drive, and scanned it externally with eset online scanner.  Eset found 20 threats, one of which was a trojan, Win32/Kryptik.CBJZ.

I reinstalled the drive, and the machine booted right up.  I installed CCleaner and removed 7GB of junk.  I installed MalwareBytes Pro and Avast.  I backed up all of the client's data.

MalwareBytes detects the rootkit as 2 forged physical sectors, and Avast detects it as MBR:Cidox-E[Rtk].  MalwareBytes cannot remove it.  Avast is unable to remove it.  After the first attempt, I got BSOD Quota_Underflow, and after the 2nd attempt, BSOD Reference_By_Pointer.

I downloaded Aswmbr from Avast, and it reported the default Windows 7 MBR was fine.  So I am starting to wonder if it has something to do with the Gateway Recovery Partition.  I have FRST64 logs if that would be helpful.

So "am I infected?  What do I do next?"