Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible hard drive failure?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mikesmith13

mikesmith13

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:40 PM

Posted 21 August 2014 - 11:27 PM

Hi all. This is my first time posting on this site, so forgive me if this isn't the correct location.

On with the issue.

I have an OEM Samsung hard drive (made by seagate,) which I think is failing on me. The computer has been sluggish lately. It will be fast for a few minutes, then it will come to a halt and just sit there. Then it picks back up again, and might be a little slow.  I removed the hard drive and connected it to my Rosewill 2 hard drive dock and opened up Seatools for Windows on my other PC. Running the Short DST reports that the drive is fine. I also launched HDTune, which again reports it is okay. I put the drive back in the computer and used Ultimate Boot Disk to load Seatools for DOS. Seatools for DOS is reporting that the drive has bad sectors. Which one do I believe? I tend to think that Seatools for DOS is better since it is checking at a DOS level. Would I be correct in thinking that? If I have to buy a new hard drive, then I will. I don't need anything that is on it. 

Attached File  10359905_797264206983361_8170032141506718420_n.jpg   87.15KB   0 downloads

Thanks.