Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How to test for a botnet

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MorganL4

MorganL4

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:59 AM

Posted 20 August 2014 - 11:22 AM

So I like to think iI know a thing or two about computers (I have a bachelor's degree in IT to prove it) but one thing that is causing me worry is that every night, late at night my hard drive will spin up and all 4 cores of my CPU will start working full boar, and yet I have absolutely no programs running. I go into task manager, and look at the processes that are running, and it tells me that Steam is the most taxing thing on my PC. I end the process, and nothing changes. Acording to my meters all 4 cores are going crazy and the drive is spinning like mad. I shut the PC down and it says "preparing to shut down, waiting for backround programs to close" And yet a moment ago, accordng to my process list in task manager there was nothing running AT ALL. So my first thought is that somehow, my PC has become a part of a botnet. Does anyone know how I can test for this, and if it proves true how to remove it? Because when I run Kaspersky or Malwarebytes nothing comes up as infected.

Any help would greatly appreciated.

Edited by hamluis, 20 August 2014 - 11:29 AM.
Moved from Win 7 to Am I Infected - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)