Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Toshiba Satellite L75DD-S5251 Randomly Shuts Down

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Abnonymous

Abnonymous

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:02 PM

Posted 19 August 2014 - 12:25 PM

(This is my first time posting to this forum, so hopefully this is in the right place...)

I can't post the computer's specs just yet, since getting it to stay on long enough is a huge struggle at this point. Will update when I can.

After turning on the laptop, it will stay on for maybe a few second before shutting down. The power and battery lights will start flashing orange, and won't stop unless you unplug it. I stopped using a battery and have just been running it on the charger, because it originally seemed like it could have been a bad battery. 

Went to a replacement shop and got another battery, but it only works occasionally. Charging only seems to really happen when the computer is shut completely down, and the battery depletion doesn't seem accurate on the task bar. 

I've had the same thing happen to another toshiba satellite laptop, and the odd thing is they both seem to run a bit better in safe mode. 

So far I've tried:

- Removing the disk drive.

- Dusting it out (full disassemble)

- Holding down the power button without the battery/charger in