Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Very quick question re. deleting & shredding


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 TheFabz

TheFabz

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:04:45 PM

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:49 PM

On Windows 8...

 

If a program cannot be shredded due to error messages or processing overload, then would deleting said files, emptying the recylcing bin, and then shredding free disc space shred their contents? Since technically, without registry adresses, they should be seen by something like File Shredder as free disc space.

 

Don't ask for specifics because I've done this for a number of files, and a number of circumstances for which I could not shred them. Sometimes I got program in operation messages, even though it wasn't. Other times, File Shredder froze-up from overloading.


Edited by TheFabz, 18 August 2014 - 09:50 PM.


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Didier Stevens

Didier Stevens

  • BC Advisor
  • 2,735 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:01:45 AM

Posted 19 August 2014 - 02:03 PM

Yes.

 

But the following can happen: before you get the time to run your shredder, some free disk space (from deleted files) has been used and is no longer free.

The content has been overwritten with the new file, thus you can no longer shred it.

 

If you have problems with your shredder, try Sysinternal's sdelete:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb897443.aspx


Didier Stevens
http://blog.DidierStevens.com
http://DidierStevensLabs.com

SANS ISC Senior Handler
Microsoft MVP 2011-2016 Consumer Security, Windows Insider MVP 2016-2019
MVP_Horizontal_BlueOnly.png

 

If you send me messages, per Bleeping Computer's Forum policy, I will not engage in a conversation, but try to answer your question in the relevant forum post. If you don't want this, don't send me messages.

 

Stevens' law: "As an online security discussion grows longer, the probability of a reference to BadUSB approaches 1.0"


#3 Didier Stevens

Didier Stevens

  • BC Advisor
  • 2,735 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:01:45 AM

Posted 19 August 2014 - 02:04 PM

Yes.

 

But the following can happen: before you get the time to run your shredder, some free disk space (from deleted files) is reclaimed and is no longer free.

The content of the deleted file is overwritten with the content of the new file, thus you can no longer shred it.

 

If you have problems with your shredder, try Sysinternal's sdelete:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb897443.aspx


Didier Stevens
http://blog.DidierStevens.com
http://DidierStevensLabs.com

SANS ISC Senior Handler
Microsoft MVP 2011-2016 Consumer Security, Windows Insider MVP 2016-2019
MVP_Horizontal_BlueOnly.png

 

If you send me messages, per Bleeping Computer's Forum policy, I will not engage in a conversation, but try to answer your question in the relevant forum post. If you don't want this, don't send me messages.

 

Stevens' law: "As an online security discussion grows longer, the probability of a reference to BadUSB approaches 1.0"





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users