Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How do i upgrade this? (noob)

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 desiqueira

desiqueira

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:54 AM

Posted 08 August 2014 - 11:44 PM

So I have to fall back onto an Acer Aspire M5100 (http://www.cnet.com/products/acer-aspire-m5100/specs/).I'm not really good with the interior of the computer and I've never actually used it... it's been sitting and collecting dust for a while. 

Anyway, my old computer was able to run skyrim and grid very well with virtually no lag. I'm able to spend around $200 to upgrade this thing. I'm looking for smooth gameplay.. This is a must as I am looking to play all of my old games on this computer... So whether I need to add/replace a graphics card, upgrade the power supply, upgrade the RAM or anything else.. please point me in the right direction(:

I have no clue as to what the interior parts are called... but I'm great with using the computer lol

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Kilroy

Kilroy

• BC Advisor
  • 3,284 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:54 AM

Posted 09 August 2014 - 07:15 AM

RAM is the biggest bang for the buck upgrade you can do.  According to Crucial your machine can support 8GB.  How much RAM do you have now?  2GB or 4GB?