Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Keyboard replacement

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 marshall55

marshall55

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:15 AM

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:50 AM

Hi guys,

Hope this is the right section to ask in. Can anyone help me with a problem?

I've been using the same Acer Aspire 5750 for three years now and I've always HATED the keyboard on it. The keys aren't very sensitive and I type so lightly that I'm constantly accidentally missing out letters. It becomes infuriating after a while as I'm constantly correcting errors.

I've decided enough is enough (3 years later and I'm still not used to it) and I want to replace the keys. Can I buy a different set of keys and put them directly onto the existing keyboard or do I have to buy a completely new keyboard? If so, how do I know it will be compatible with my laptop?

Thanks in advance

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 buddy215

buddy215

• BC Advisor
  • 12,990 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:15 AM

Posted 08 August 2014 - 09:07 AM

If you purchase a USB keyboard or wireless keyboard your computer should have no problem recognizing it. Especially

standard, name brand ones such Microsoft, Logitech, etc. You don't have a PS2 jack so those won't work.