Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Same spec desktop vs laptop performance

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 black8ball

black8ball

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:27 PM

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:03 AM

Hello! I am new to IT world so could you please help me to understand is there any difference between the realistic performance of laptop and desktop if the technical specs are the same? I understand that laptop will be x3 more expensive that it will heat easily and that desktop is better for gaming. Some say that games don t run smooth on laptops even if they have recommended specs... so if the theoretichal specs of desk and laptop are equal could the realictic performance (let s say for gaming) be noticable? To not compare on different levels lets say laptop price is around 2000$ i7 processor 2.5 GHz / 2GB GeForce GTX 860M / 16 GB ram

Regards, black8ball

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 md92h

md92h

• Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:57 PM

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:30 AM

definitely desktop. there is no question about it.  the only that I (if i was buying) will go for laptop is its mobility but for all the other reasons desktop

#3 black8ball

black8ball
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:35 AM