Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

The old man needs a suggestion

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lostsoul65

lostsoul65

• Members
  • 97 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:51 PM

Posted 24 July 2014 - 04:31 PM

I work as a MIS Manager in Silicon Valley for 20 years and retired over 10 years ago. I had to pass a half dozen of Microsoft tests so I could get certified. I fell behind in computers so I would just like to study a book like I did in school so I can highlight and underline, sort of like the olden days to exercise my brain which seems to be going downhill. The A+ is 80% non-useable which I obtain 17 years ago. PC Build for Dummies would be demining. So does anyone have a suggestion of a book to learn about CPU’s, Mother Boards, RAM, Video Cards, and what makes a computer tick? I'm going to build another computer but this time I would like to make sure I know what I'm doing. I just need to exercise my brain before senility sets in.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,545 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:51 PM

Posted 24 July 2014 - 05:33 PM

To be honest...IMO, the book era is over.

We have finally accepted the fact that change occurs frequently...which makes anything put in bound print outdated by light years by whatever is posted/available on the Internet.