Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

used laptop 4 different OS

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Jo-nathan

Jo-nathan

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:32 AM

Posted 20 July 2014 - 06:05 PM

Folks, newbie here reaching for help! 

Been working w/Windows for too long and want to try something new.  Bought a used laptop w/Win 7 already installed.  Need to expunge it. 

1)  Do I get rid of existing Win. by reformatting hard drive?

2)  If so, what are the procedures?

3)  After reformat I want to install Ubuntu.  Think I saved correctly onto USB.  Is it as simple as plugging into reformatted laptop and following instructions for loading Ubuntu as only OS?

4)  If not, what's the best route?

Thanks for your time!

I look forward to reading your advice.

Jonathan

Edited by hamluis, 21 July 2014 - 01:45 PM.
Moved from Win 7 to Linux - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Echokrush

Echokrush

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  

Posted 20 July 2014 - 06:31 PM

Since you said you have Ubuntu on a USB drive, you could actually format the drive from there. Ubuntu has an install guide for this. I, too, a few years ago, did the same thing to my laptop.

#3 NickAu

NickAu

Bleepin' Fish Doctor

• 13,246 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:32 PM

Posted 20 July 2014 - 06:44 PM

:welcome:  To BC.