Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Server 2008 R2 Printer Migration

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 chubbs36

chubbs36

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:45 AM

Posted 20 July 2014 - 04:02 AM

Hi Guys,

This is more of a reassurance than a question but i just want to be 100% sure.

I'm a second line engineer trying to gain exposure into third line and i have been given a small project to migrate some printers from a Windows Server 2008 machine to a Server 2008 R2 machine which is an already established priner server hosting 95% of our printers.

My (possibly silly) question is if i export the printers from the 2008 server can i import them onto the 2008 R2 server without overwriting whats already there.

I have seen printers migrated from scratch but i just wanted to make sure i can add the to whats allready there,

All the drivers x64 and x86 are already in place.

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 chubbs36

chubbs36
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:45 AM

Posted 21 July 2014 - 02:42 PM

anyone?

#3 JohnnyJammer

JohnnyJammer

• Members
  • 1,117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 22 July 2014 - 12:45 AM

Yes mate sorry, you should be fine. I have done this many times.