Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Unable to connect to the internet

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 pctechjbay

pctechjbay

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:07 AM

Posted 15 July 2014 - 08:34 AM

Hi, I am a computer tech. but I am stumped by this one. I recognise the scam involved, it is very common here in South Africa but this one doesn't quite fit the usual pattern. Normally they call you, take your money and leave you alone, or if you don't pay they lock you out of your pc. I've never known them to take your money and wait 4 months to lock you out.

My customer was contacted by a firm in March 2014 claiming to be called Global IT acting on behalf of Microsoft and that his copy of Windows was illegal. His copy of Windows 8 was, to the best of my knowledge, a legal, activated copy of Windows 8 which came pre-installed on the notebook. He allowed this person remote access to his notebook and was shown log files of all the errors. For a fee this person would fix all the errors and issue a new product key which would make Windows 8 legal. Payment was duely made (I really don't believe people still fall for this) and the notebook was "fixed". Until yesterday everything ran smoothly.