Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Encrypted Hard drives

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Nici

Nici

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:34 PM

Posted 11 July 2014 - 02:20 PM

Got a new Lenovo windows 8.1 Yoga Thinkpad. I am new to windows 8 and am not quite sure how to use all of the features yet.

For security purposes, I encrypted the had drive with the bitlocker program, and am now unable to run certain malware tools unless I unencrypt the whole c:\drive.

MS saftey Scanner and Norton, both run fine, but, Malwarebytes will not run at all because there is no access; how then, does the malware set in if the drive is not accessible?

Edited by hamluis, 11 July 2014 - 03:52 PM.
Moved from Win 8 to Gen Security - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 TDubbed

TDubbed

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:34 PM

Posted 11 July 2014 - 02:29 PM

Check this out. The guy in the post says that Malware Bytes does not support Bitlocker drives. I'm not sure if this is true or not, but it would explain your problem with only malwarebytes.

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/alt.comp.anti-virus/YzGTNk4DtDs

I hope this helps.

#3 Nici

Nici
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  

Posted 13 July 2014 - 06:05 PM

Yes, It was helpful.

Thanx TDubbed