Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Interesting Case

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 studenthub

studenthub

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:14 AM

Posted 10 July 2014 - 11:15 AM

Hey everyone,

I am a technician that works for an institution providing walk-up computer repair (mostly virus removal), and I have had 2 interesting cases that have stumped me.

Here's what is going on:

Our clients have to frequently use an institutional website whose address looks like "xxxxxxx.angellearning.com/default.asp".

Both "interesting case" clients have come in with low level browser hijack infections (Tuvaro, Gorillaprice, Opimizer Pro, Knctr, etc...). Typically we use a combination of AdwCleaner and CCleaner along with some manual actions to resolve these types of infections.

Now the problem that has started happening with these two clients is that post infection cleaning, when the clients attempt to view the "xxxxxxx.angellearning.com/default.asp" site, Chrome downloads "default.asp" instead of displaying it. Every single time.

BUT

Chrome will display the page correctly when Windows is loaded in Safe Mode.

The list of cleaning/detection products I have run (hopefully I won't forget any) include:

HitmanPro

AdwCleaner

CCleaner

TDSS Killer

Kaspersky Rescue CD

HijackThis

Sysinternals ProcessMonitor, Autoruns