Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Comcast Business Modem/Router Setup Questions

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ashergill

ashergill

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:15 AM

Posted 05 July 2014 - 06:46 PM

Hi Everyone,

Networking novice here, so please pardon the relative lack of knowledge in this matter.

I recently signed up with Comcast Business class, and have received an SMC modem/router without wireless built-in.  I'm trying to set up an office network, so that I can have some devices wired into the modem/router, while others connect wireless to the same network through my own linksys WRT160N.  

The SMC has 4 available ports in the back.

Here is the setup:

SMC Port 1 --> Main PC

SMC Port 2 --> Samsung printer/copier/fax

SMC Port 3 --> Internet Port of Linksys WRT160N --> various wireless devices

SMC Port 4 --> Obi202 --> Phone

PC can see the printer on the network.  However, the wireless devices connected through Linksys WRT160N are not on the main network.

The SMC modem/router has an IP of 192.168.0.1 and I am able to access this through the PC browser.  The range of assignable DHCP addresses is 50 through 199.

The PC, Printer and the Obi all have addresses within this range.