Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

about "system reserved" in my "E" drive/partition

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 seraphin

seraphin

• Members
  • 102 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:53 AM

Posted 02 July 2014 - 09:40 PM

A complete novice of OS but have questions about system reserved.

My apology if questions are not stated clearly -

It seems that most laptops these days come with at least two partitions in the HD.

Partition One is called Win7 OS (or Win8, I assume) and the other "system reserved".

I've heard that "system reserved" is an IMPORTANT partition and CAN HELP restore the system after it crashes (is this correct?).

I recently backed up my whole HD - not sure if the backup software really backed up EVERYTHING (i.e. both partitions or just main WIn7 OS partition) or only the files in partition one ??

Today I obtained a new HD from a thrown-away laptop and I reformated it.

Question 1 -

after/if I copy everything in system reserved to the reformated HD, can it run by itself like a computer?

Question 2 -

if no, what then will be the minimum that I must copy to the reformated HD to make it an operatable HD?