Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need help with graphic card problem.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Arcannys

Arcannys

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:20 AM

Posted 02 July 2014 - 05:43 AM

Hello!

I've been coping with this problem for a couple months now and finally decided to try to fix it and/or get a new graphic card.
Every now and then the screen goes crazy with distorted images and colours and the computer freezes afterwards.

Sometimes when all this starts happening i am able to quickly close the browser and/or game im running and it fixes itself, with a "your video card controller had an error but recovered properly from it" message. But this doesnt work most of the time and the computer freezes anyway.

I'm 90% sure it's a graphic card problem since i can still hear whatever video/song im running in the background after the screen goes black, before it eventualy freezes completely.

I've also noticed this happens more frequently when i'm running a movie+game in different screens. Or when i'm running a heavy graphic game such as Bioshock 2 or even Counter Strike: Source.

With that said, it doesnt happen too often, maybe 1 time/day and sometimes it doesnt even happen at all.

I'd be happy if you guys could help me identify the problem or tell me if i should buy a new graphic card.